‘Tis the season!

Around this time every year, the pressure ridges next to the Kiwi station open for walking tours so on the 13th of November, Scott and I bundled up and headed out. The weather wasn’t great – a bit windy and overcast – but it was still beautiful and it gave me a chance to try out my new Athleta snowpants I had purchased over the summer.

cn5785717

A quick note about these pants for the women readers – they are EXPENSIVE at full price. There was no way I could justify paying $300+ for a single article of clothing. But I wanted them. They looked so comfy and if they were as good at keeping out the wind and cold as the reviews said…. Very very fortunately, I happened to check out the Athleta website during their summer sale and saw them marked down 50%. I tested them at Schwab by spraying myself with water and standing in the walk-in freezer for ten minutes: my ears got cold but my legs stayed fine. So yeah, they’re unbelievably awesome and I’m going to get them approved by FSTP (Field Safety Training Program) so that I can hopefully wear them instead of the giant windpants I get issued as part of my ECW.

And now, without further ado, I give you my 2013 pressure ridge tour with the same caveat as last year: it will be a picture-heavy post.

IMG_4834 IMG_4836 IMG_4838 IMG_4839

IMG_4840

IMG_4841

IMG_4844

IMG_4845IMG_4847 IMG_4846

IMG_4856

IMG_4848

IMG_4853

IMG_4851

IMG_4850

IMG_4849

IMG_4859

IMG_4860  IMG_4864

IMG_4867

IMG_4869

IMG_4872

IMG_4884

You can see the barrel on this frozen wave!

 

IMG_4883 IMG_4879

IMG_4875

IMG_4886

Surf’s up, permanently!

 

IMG_4890

IMG_4891

Love this view of the Sea Ice Runway

IMG_4893

Oh yeah, gotta feed the meter….even in Antarctica!

And of course Scott had to get a picture with “his” sign before we headed back to MacTown

IMG_4894

3 responses to “‘Tis the season!

  1. Otherworldly…absolutely beautiful. Love the sunrise/set pic & the frozen waves. You are so lucky to experience this. Thanks for the photos.

Leave a Reply

